2021 Writing Contest Winners


Our Writing Contest is complete for this year, and we would like to thank everyone who submitted their work. We had many wonderful entries and would like to congratulate our winners. You may read the winning pieces for each category below.


WINNER: Deborah Rasmussen, “Unlocking 2021”

Runner-up: Jennifer Wiitala, “Riddle the Chasm”

Short Fiction

WINNER: Sara Sha, “Penny Smells Smoke”

Runner-up:  Cary Griffith, “Missing and Presumed Dead”

Short Short Fiction

WINNER: Alicia Peterson, “Social Distance”

Runner-up: Charlene Roise, “Pedal Dream”

Creative Nonfiction

WINNER: Dave Boe, “The Middle of Nowhere”

Runner-up: Deb Winchell, “Turning the Key”

This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.